Chicken Soup

Last week, I was working away in my cubicle at my paperpushing job when all of a sudden I felt it: the beginnings of a cold.  Within the next few hours, I was achy and sore, my nose was running, I couldn’t stop sneezing, I was feeling hot, then cold, then hot and the moment the clock struck shift-over-time-to-go, I barreled down the freeway toward home to sleep the bug out. 

I woke up four hours later, disoriented.  It was dark and hubby was not yet off work, so I forced myself to make something soothing to eat.  Luckily, I had all ingredients on hand, even homemade chicken stock thanks to having recently made simple roast chicken and lots of cayenne pepper to clear my sinuses.  By the next morning I was feeling about 85% myself. 

Yesterday, the hubs came down with the same symptoms so I got to make this once again.  This recipe makes about 6 large servings.

Chicken Soup

1 medium yellow onion, sliced

2 medium leeks, sliced

4 cloves garlic, minced

9 medium carrots, peeled and sliced

3 medium zucchini, sliced and chopped in half

4 stalks of celery, sliced

2 chicken breasts, shredded

3/4 lb egg noodles

2 bay leaves

6-8 cups chicken stock

2 tbsp butter

Salt to taste

Cayenne pepper (optional)

Melt butter in a large pot over medium-high heat.  Add onions and leeks, stir occasionally and cook until translucent, about 5 minutes.  Add garlic and cook for about 1 minute.  Stir carrots into the garlic and onion mixture and cook for about 3 minutes.  The orange color of the carrots should intensify a little. 

Pour the chicken stock into the pot and bring to a boil.  Add chicken, zucchini, celery, noodles and bay leaves and lower the heat to medium low.  Allow to simmer for about 15 minutes or until the carrots and noodles are softened.  Add salt to taste and cayenne pepper.

2 thoughts on “Chicken Soup

  1. Pingback: That noble chicken just keeps on giving a.k.a. How to make chicken broth | dining out, cooking in

  2. Pingback: Simple Roast Chicken | dining out, cooking in

Leave a Reply

