Chocolate Sheet Cake with Chocolate Covered Maraschino Cherries

I am a longtime Bakerella fan and had been meaning to try out this recipe.  We had a potluck at work and since everyone in the office has agreed to be my guinea pig, I finally got to make this chocolate sheet cake.  It was originally a Pioneer Woman recipe, but I tweaked them both by adding cherry flavored buttercream frosting and maraschino cherries hand rolled in milk chocolate.

I enjoyed the process of making this cake not only because I love working with chocolate, but because I made frosting for the first time.  I have been intimidated by baking for about two decades and figured frosting was just way too advanced for me, but my friend Steph encouraged me to try and gave me step by step instructions.  Come to find out it’s super easy!  There was seriously nothing to fear.  I just mixed a stick of butter with some powdered sugar, added heavy whipping cream to lighten it and dropped in some cherry flavoring.  Easy bo beazy!

To make the cherries, I placed them on a baking sheet lined with parchment paper, then popped them in the freezer for about an hour and a half.  I melted Ghirardelli milk chocolate chips in a double boiler and when it was all smooth and shiny and melty, I grabbed each cherry with two toothpicks and rolled them in the chocolate to coat.  I placed them back on the baking sheet and in the fridge to harden.

Only these two pieces remained.

Leave a Reply

