The easiest, most stable way to cut a watermelon

As a winter person, I am very happy that Labor Day came and went because it signifies that summer is in its final throes.  I’m super excited to share my favorite cool weather dishes, but first I fully intend on taking advantage of the last bounty of summer foods, especially the naturally awkwardly shaped and sized watermelon.

My large watermelon in all its glory.

Cut both ends off and then cut it in half. Stand the two watermelon pieces up comme ça.

Carefully cut the rind all around the watermelon by slicing downward and turning the watermelon a little with each slice.

Be sure to have a bowl nearby to hold all the rind.

Cut across first and then crosshatch.

I like to season my watermelon with Tajin to make it a little spicy.

Leave a Reply

