Mentaiko Kimchi Udon

This amazing blog, which details the making of every recipe in David Chang’s Momofuku Cookbook,  introduced me to this recipe.  Mentaiko is spicy cod roe and may be purchased at Japanese markets.  Luckily for me, we have several of them throughout Southern Cali.  I am not too experienced with cooking Japanese cuisine, but I enjoyed making this dish.  It was super fast, easy and delish.  It’s like Japanese spaghetti.  I took a few liberties with the recipe and was very satisfied with the results.

Mentaiko Kimchi Udon Recipe

1 package of Mentaiko (all 4 packs)

2 cups of Kimchi with brine

3 bricks of frozen Udon

2 tablespoons of Butter

1/2 c White onion, diced

2 cloves of Garlic, minced

1 dash of Nori Komi Furikake rice seasoning

1 small handful of Cilantro leaves

2 sliced Green onions

Nori strips for garnish

Lime wedges

I got all the ingredients together that the recipes I had looked at said I’d need, but added a couple things I thought would go well as I got further along in the cooking process, so not everything is pictured. Sorry!

Put a pot of water big enough for your bricks of udon to boil on high heat.  Cook the udon according to the cooking directions on the package.  Drain and set aside.

In a separate pot, add the butter over medium-high heat.  When the butter is melted, add the white onion and cook until translucent.  Add garlic and cook for about 1 minute.

Add kimchi to the onion mixture and stir together until the sauce starts to thicken and the  kimchi brine is no longer liquid.

Add the udon noodles.  Once the udon is coated, transfer into serving bowls.

Sprinkle with cilantro leaves, rice seasoning, sliced green onions and nori strips.  Squeeze lime wedge over the finished product.  Serve hot.

2 thoughts on “Mentaiko Kimchi Udon

  1. Hey there, I think your site might be having browser compatibility issues.
    When I look at your website in Chrome, it looks fine but when opening in Internet Explorer, it has some overlapping.
    I just wanted to give you a quick heads up! Other
    then that, amazing blog!

Leave a Reply

