Avocado Smoothie Recipe

I am a huge fan of avocados.  I love them in recipes, as guac and even by themselves sprinkled with a little salt and lime juice.  The first time I saw an avocado smoothie, I was in a Vietnamese sandwich shop here in town.  I had ordered my bahn mi sandwich and asked a patron who was holding a beautiful thick, green drink about what he was about to imbibe.  When he told me it was avocado, I was intrigued and went to order one to go with my meal.  From the moment I tasted it, I fell in love.  This morning I had two ripe avocados in the fridge (they last longer in there) and I couldn’t let them go to waste!  Vitamin E for breakfast?  Suuuuure!

You can tell an avocado is ripe by squeezing it lightly.  If it has a little bit of give all over the peel, it’s ready to go.  If it is too squishy, it’s overripe and may already be brown and black inside.  If it’s hard, put it in a paper bag and store it in the oven for a day or so.  Just don’t forget it’s in there before you turn it on to bake a cake!

Avocado Smoothie Recipe

Makes 2 servings

1 ripe medium avocado

1 cup ice

1/3 cup sweetened condensed milk

1/2 cup milk

Banana slices (for garnish)

Crushed graham cracker (for garnish)

Scoop the avocado flesh into a blender or food processor.  Add the remaining ingredients and puree until completely smooth. Taste and adjust sweetness and consistency to your preference.

I like to refrigerate mine for about 20 minutes or put in the freezer for half that time.  Top with a few banana slices and graham crackers to make it pretty.

Leave a Reply

