Crockpot Steel Cut Oats with Apples, Brown Sugar and Cinnamon

I’m always rushing in the morning because I’d rather sleep a few extra minutes than have ample time to make myself a leisurely breakfast.  Silly, I know.  I decided to start looking for recipes I can make ahead of time and grab and go and I am in love with this one.  It tastes waaaaay better than instant oats.  The apples get really soft and buttery and the raisins plump up and add little explosions of sweetness.  Plus, I have enough of this for the whole week.  I put them into these pretty little jars that happened to be on sale at Target yesterday.  They’re now ready to go in my fridge.

 

Crockpot Steel Cut Oats with Apples, Brown Sugar and Cinnamon

1.5 cups Steel cut oats

2 cups Milk

4 cups Water

2 Apples, finely chopped

3 teaspoons Cinnamon

1 teaspoon Nutmeg

1/2 teaspoon Vanilla extract

3 tablespoons Brown sugar

1 cup Raisins

Spray the inside of a large crockpot with non-stick cooking spray and dump all ingredients in.  Turn the crockpot on low and allow to cook for 7 hours.  That’s it!!

I garnished mine with a few extra raisins and a sprinkle of flax seed and granola for some crunch.  Some nuts would also be wonderful.

 

2 thoughts on “Crockpot Steel Cut Oats with Apples, Brown Sugar and Cinnamon

Leave a Reply

